The EUA Council is comprised of the President, the members of the Board and the chairpersons or nominated representatives of the national rectors’ associations. The Council meets three times per year to discuss and define EUA’s priorities and to endorse various policy positions and statements.

Council members

  • Austria Prof. Eva Blimlinger, President, Universities Austria  
  • Belgium Prof. Vincent Blondel, President, Rectors’ Conference, French Community of Belgium
  • Belgium Prof. Herman Van Goethem, President, Flemish Interuniversity Council
  • Croatia Prof. Vlado Guberac, President, Croatian Rectors’ Conference
  • Cyprus Prof. George Demosthenous, President, Cyprus Rectors’ Conference
  • Czech Republic Prof. Tomáš Zima, President, Permanent Representative, Czech Rectors Conference
  • Denmark Prof. Anders Overgaard Bjarklev, President, University of Denmark
  • Estonia Prof. Tiit Land, President, Universities Estonia
  • Finland Prof. Jukka Mönkkönen, President, Universities Finland - UNIFI
  • France Prof. Gilles Roussel, President, Conference of University Presidents
  • Germany Prof. Peter-André Alt, President, German Rectors’ Conference - HRK
  • Greece Prof. Pericles Mitkas, Rector, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and Prof. Venetsana Kyriazopoulou, Rector, University of Patras
  • Holy See Prof. fr. Mauro Mantovani, President, Conference of Rectors of Roman Pontifical Universities
  • Hungary Prof. János Józsa, President, Hungarian Rectors’ Conference
  • Iceland Prof. Jon Atli Benediktsson, President, National Rectors’ Conference in Iceland 
  • Ireland Dr. Andrew Deeks, Representative, Irish Universities Association
  • Italy Prof. Gaetano Manfredi, President, Conference of Italian University Rectors  
  • Latvia Prof. Arvids Barševskis, President, Latvian Rectors’ Council
  • Lithuania Prof. Artūras Žukauskas, President, Lithuanian University Rectors’ Conference 
  • Luxembourg Prof. Stéphane Pallage, President, University of Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands Dr Pieter Duisenberg, President, Association of Universities in the Netherlands
  • Norway Prof. Inge Jan Henjesand, Representative, Norwegian Association for Higher Education Institutions
  • Poland Prof. Jan Szmidt, President, Conference of Rectors of Academic Schools in Poland
  • Portugal Prof. António Fontainhas , President, Portuguese National Conference of Rectors
  • Romania Prof. Sorin Cimpeanu, President, Romanian Council of Rectors
  • Serbia Prof. Vladimir Bumbasirevic, President, Conference of the Universities of Serbia
  • Slovak Republic Prof. Marek Šmid, President, Slovak Rectors’ Conference
  • Slovenia Prof. Danilo Zavrtanik, President, Slovenian Rectors’ Conference
  • Spain Prof. Roberto Fernández, President, The Conference of the Rectors of the Spanish Universities
  • Sweden Prof. Helen Dannetun, President, Association of Swedish Higher Education
  • Switzerland Prof. Michael Hengartner, President, swissuniversities
  • Turkey Prof. Yekta Sarac, President, Turkish University Rectors’ Conference
  • United Kingdom Prof. Janet Beer, President, Universities UK
Comfortable read mode Normal mode X